MULTI-WAN link showing 'DOWN'

First of all congratulations to all involved. Setting up the server thus far has been a true breeze, and everything(for the most part) has been working smoothly. I am new to the Linux world and must admit that there is a learning curve, but NEthserver has made things very easy.

The only thing I cannot get to work is the ‘MULTI-WAN’. I can see on the dashboard that the interface link is green and OK, but the same connection on the MULTI-WAN is showing ‘DOWN’.

There are two connections with weight 50 and 100.

Connection 1(UP) is static IP weight 50, and 10 Mbps down/2 Mbps up.
Connection 2(DOWN) is static IP weight 100, and 20mbps down/5 Mbps up.

The mode is set to ‘Balance’, and rest are all default values. Any ideas on what I could be doing wrong?

1 Like

It’s not the same as your problem, but perhaps the solution can help you too:

Have played around with various combinations of DNS server settings (Google and ISP provided). Changing the DNS entries did not solve my issue, thus I’m posting details to this thread (after checking multiple other threads related to Multi WAN).

System version: NethServer release 7.5.1804 (rc)
Kernel release: 3.10.0-862.3.2.el7.x86_64

This system has been working for over a year, flawlessly. Last week, we added another NIC, because we got an additional DSL connection (low-bandwidth one). However, when both NIC are plugged in and configured, both show as DOWN in the Multi WAN section of the dashboard (both show OK in the Interfaces section and show Link status is up in the Network section).

Note that if either of them is plugged in independently, the system works fine. Also note that the DSL modems are properly configured and have no connectivity issues.

Original NIC (enp3s0) configuration:

• IP: 192.168.1.2
  • Subnet: 255.255.255.0
  • Gateway: 192.168.1.1
  • Name: red1
  • Weight: 100

New NIC (enp4s0) configuration:

• IP: 192.168.2.2
  • Subnet: 255.255.255.0
  • Gateway: 192.168.2.1